Transformers: War for Cybertron (2010, PC) – 7/10 third-person science fiction action game review

Cast / crew

Transformers: War for Cybertron (2010)

On their home planet of Cybertron, the Autobots and Decepticons battle to control Dark Energon.

7/10

This is a stylish sci-fi shooter but it suffers from the inherited bland characterisations of the Transformers themselves, especially the Autobots. The robots are essentially indistinguishable from each other but the notable exception comes from the Decepticon campaign. Starscream entertainingly seeks his own glory and self-preservation but Megatron is an absolute riot with his endless self-aggrandising statements and credit-taking. The Decepticon campaign ends with a clearer and so more spectacular boss battle than the Autobot campaign (which sees you spend most of the time not looking at the boss).

This game contains mild bad language and robot violence.

Links

This blog is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.

One thought on “Transformers: War for Cybertron (2010, PC) – 7/10 third-person science fiction action game review

  1. Thanks for the great review. I have been a Transformers fan since I was a kid with the original series. Unfortunately I have had bad experience with any game ported from movies. That’s why I skipped the games based on the first 2 movies. I heard a lot of good things about War for Cybertron but I never had a chance to pick it up. Now the movie Transformers: Dark of the Moon has a game port as well. I just signed up with the Blockbuster Movie Pass rental and streaming service from my TV provider/employer DISH Network. For just $10 per month I get streaming service to my TV and computer as well as access to thousands of DVDs, Blu-rays and video games. I signed up for the service mostly because of the unlimited game rentals. It gives me a chance to catch up on games that I missed when they were released. Going through reviews it seems that War for Cybertron is the game for fans of the franchise; the other games seemed to be pretty forgettable. I can’t wait to get a copy.

Leave a Reply

