Windows 8 will not boot after installing TOCA Race Driver 3

Toca Race Driver 3
Toca Race Driver 3

Codemasters’ TOCA Race Driver 3 (TRD3) is a good-looking, good-feeling racer that offers thrilling and highly satisfying action aswell as a very accessible and generally convincing driving model. It does works on Windows 8 but the StarForce protection drivers installed alongside it will stop Windows 8 from booting.

To be able to boot Windows 8 after installing TRD3, you need to Disable Driver Signature Enforcement. (Now here I think I was lucky. I had just recently set up my system to dual boot between 8 and XP and this gives me a boot menu where I can press F8 and select Disable Driver Signature Enforcement. If I didn’t, I do not know how to access that boot option because all the pages talking about it presume you can boot into Windows 8. If you’ve installed TRD3, you can’t.)

To remove the StarForce protection drivers:

  1. Go to the official Update/Remove driver page.
  2. Download and run the StarForce pre 5.5 remove utility.
  3. Your system should now reboot successfully.

To play the game on Windows 8:

  1. Find (from a reliable source) a Fixed EXE and a no-CD patch. You may need to replace RD3.exe then run a CD-Check removal patcher.
  2. Scan your Race Driver 3 folder with a virus, malware and spyware scanner, pray to your God, turn around three times and spit on the back of your hand before running any downloaded executable files, specifically the CD-Check removal patcher and TRD3.exe after running the CD-Check removal patcher.
  3. Set XP SP3 compatibility option on HardwareSetup.exe to configure the game.
  4. Set the Run as Administrator compatibility option on TRD3.exe to play the game.

4 thoughts on “Windows 8 will not boot after installing TOCA Race Driver 3

  1. my friend. you are a life saver. i was this close to formatting my computer as it wouldn’t boot up. thank you so much for your help

  2. well – this I should know before – I mean I have original game for years and I wanted to install and play it after some time…. and instead of it I was forced to do a partial format, just to boot my windows

    thank to god I was able to recover all m personal data, but all damn installed content from avast antivirus to mozilla bookmars was gone – I was furious

  3. It would be usefull to propose a “reliable source”. I have tried GameCopyWorld, but my anti-virus said me that the patcher program is a trojan horse.

    1. I used GameCopyWorld TOCA Race Driver 3 v1.0 [ENGLISH] No-DVD Patch. Windows Defender scans it without a warning but, as with all files from GameCopyWorld, it is run-at-your-own-risk.

Leave a comment